Saturday, April 2, 2011

India Vs. Sri Lanka: ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, the Final

In the grand final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 between two Asian finalists and two hosts India and Sri Lanka, two wicketkeeper captains came to the middle of Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium for the historical toss.

In the first spin of coin, there was some confusion over who's won the toss. In the re-toss Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and decided that he will bat first in the India vs Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup 2011 final match.

Sri Lanka have won the toss (at the second time of asking) and will bat first – a decision that gives them a slight advantage in being able to set India a target. The middle order of Sri Lanka though has not needed to be utilised often during the tournament and it will be interesting if India manage to grab a couple of early wickets.

India have made one change from their semi-final line up with Ashish Nehra failing a fitness test and being replaced by Sree Sreethanth.

Sri Lanka have made four changes in total: Out go Mendis, Herath, Silva along with the injured Matthews, with Randiv, Kulasakera, Kapugedera, Perera coming into the side.

It appears that both sides team selection has focussed on pace, rather than spin, an indication of how this relatively new wicket is expected to play.

No comments:

Post a Comment


All About Photos